Not another sales call !

I get quite a number of calls from call centres, all scoring high on the annoying scale. As you know, if you have ever been afflicted by that menace, the callers suffer from poor training and impossibly bad scripts.

They tax my patience and exhaust my tolerance. And I will confess to being less than polite on occasion. All right, every occasion.

This morning I had a call that started suspiciously like a call centre approach. “Sorry,” I said, “you’re calling from where?”

The caller repeated the company’s name, but it meant nothing to me so, still in call-centre-response mode, I asked, “Why are you calling me?”

Fortunately my tone had not quite turned hostile, because the caller said I had been recommended as a sales trainer, and would I do some training for them?

Phew!

You get my point, don’t you? Dangerous to leap to conclusions or make your mind up before you have all the facts …that’s fairly obvious. But there’s something else besides.

I had allowed those call centre agents to change my attitude to unknown callers. Through their irritating ways they had created the wrong automatic response in me, and that was the greater danger.

It reminded me to act in accordance with my own norms.

As Polonius said to his son, “This above all, to thine own self be true.” You never know, but the next person to cross your path may be trying to do you some good.

So let me do just that for you.  I’ve written an e-Book called The Voice of Leadership, and I’d like to send it to you with my compliments. To get it, just go to http://speakingandpresentationskills.com/ and click on the image at the bottom right hand corner of the page.

Leave a comment

Filed under Marketing, Sales

Leave a Reply

